Tuesday, June 7, 2011

The Hunger Games Trilogy

Last night I finished one of the best trilogies I've read since The Lord of the Rings! The Hunger Games trilogy, written by Suzanne Collins, is a young adult series that is very dark and action packed. At some points I thought it was maybe too dark for the audience it was written for!

The basic premise of the books: In a post-apocalyptic United States, the capitol requires each District (12 total) to send a boy and a girl to compete to the death in what they call The Hunger Games. The capitol uses all kind of tricks like starvation, booby traps, and wild beasts to torture these kids who have to kill one another on top of all these things. The main character, Katniss Everdeen, makes it through the Hunger Games but ends up making the president look like a fool. In the events that follow he tries to ruin her life as she and other rebels of the districts wage war against the capitol for absolute freedom.

Sorry if that's confusing but I tried to sum up three 300-400 page books into one paragraph.  The basic theme is good vs. evil, but told in a very new, unconventional, and exciting way. If you at all enjoy reading fantasy you will enjoy these books. If you enjoy interesting, likeable, and relatable characters, you will enjoy these books. If you like action and excitement with a little romance thrown in for good measure, you will enjoy these books!

Add these to your summer reading list - the first movie is being filmed as I type this!

My rating for the entire trilogy: 4.6/5 stars.

1 comment:

  1. Sounds like a fun read, I might have to get these!